Checkout  →

Paperback Pioneers:
Sun Books (1965–81)

Sun Books was an Australian paperback publisher formed in 1965 by Geoffrey Dutton, Brian Stonier and Max Harris. Brian Sadgrove, who would become a leading figure in Australian graphic design, was commissioned to create Sun Books’ distinctive identity and many of the publisher’s covers during the 1960s and 1970s. This book includes an introduction by Warren Taylor and an essay by Dominic Hofstede, as well as more than 80 covers designed by Sadgrove and other significant practitioners including Ken Cato, Robert Rosetzky and Guy Mirabella.

Softcover, 112 pages, 270mm × 195mm.
Published by Re:collection (ISBN: 978-0-646-96905-3).
Design: Dominic Hofstede.
Typeset in Recollection Text, Recollection Subhead and Recollection Display (www.matterofsorts.com).
Print: Bambra Press, Melbourne, Australia.
Edition: 500.